Produced for
The European Commission for Preservation and Access (ECPA)
Concept
Paula Witkamp (ECPA)
Text
Barry van der Sluis
Yola de Lusenet (ECPA)
English Text Correction
Sarah Jones
Photographs of Video Tape Formats
Laurent Baumann, Memoriav
and many others on the net who are mentioned in the link section
Additional Photographs
Barry van der Sluis
Martin Loquet
Video Errors Movie
Franz Pavuza, Phonogrammarchiv, Austrian Academy of Sciences
Special Thanks to
Richard Wright, BBC Future Media & Technology
Gabrielle Lin Friedman, Film- and Video Editor
Anne Muller (ECPA)
The Little Archives of the World Foundation (LAW)
Produced by
The Little Archives of the World Foundation (LAW)
Layout, Interaction and Web Design
Martin Loquet, Martz
Production and Direction
Barry van der Sluis
About Tape (ECPA)
TAPE (Training for Audio-visual Preservation in Europe), funded under
the Culture 2000 programme of the EU, is a 3-year project for raising
awareness and training by expert meetings, research, publications and
workshops. TAPE focuses on audio-visual collections held outside the major
National institutions with specific responsibilities for audio-visual
heritage. Through a programme of activities TAPE aims to explore the requirements
for continued access to audio-visual materials and the application of
new technologies for opening up collections that provide living documentation
of the World of the 20th century.
About Barry van der Sluis
He
began his career during the 1960s as a film projectionist. At the 70mm
Philips Cinema Du-Midi theatre in Amsterdam he became -fascinated by the
technique of 70mm film and then worked as a technician at NLF film laboratory.
In 1964 he joined the famous Dutch TV-pirate “TV-Noordzee”
as a sound technician and camera assistant. Later he worked as a sound
technician and film editor for cinema and television commercials and documentaries
at Oscar-Film.
In 1971 he bought the prototype Steenbeck 928 editing table and in 1972
created his own post production company (Studio22). In 1981 he build a
larger studio (Holland Satellite Television) for film and video editing,
sound recording, dubbing and synchronisation, duplicating services, which
was also in Blaricum, Netherlands.
In the course of his long career he has worked on more than 1000 television
programmes and films and as such he has developed an all-round knowledge
of the technical as well as the artistic, communicative, journalistic,
commercial and juridical aspects of audiovisual media.
About LAW
The
Little Archives of the World Foundation was founded in 1987 by a group
of people who had worked for decades in film and television production
and direction. They started collecting audiovisual material from many
sources.
Today the LAW archives contain more then 8500 audiovisual items on all
kind of formats. Vintage film and video as well as modern equipment are
in use in the facility studio for transferring from different sources
to digital media for conservation and educational use. The LAW foundation
is also involved in special projects, classical music recordings, and
provide a University graduate training place.
By archiving and conserving our 20th Century
audiovisual heritage we contribute to historical image documentation for
the future.
Related URLs
http://www.tape-online.net/index.html
http://www.knaw.nl/ecpa/
http://www.memoriav.ch
http://www.oeaw.ac.at
http://www.cultivate-int.org/issue7/presto/
http://www.little-archives.net
http://www.culture.org.mt/
The Little Reference
Guide for Small Video Tape Collections
Also seen on the site www.little-archives.net/guide
Contact:
The Little Archives of the World Foundation
Archives and Facility Studio
Van Diemenstraat 410 - 412
1013 CR Amsterdam
The Netherlands - Europe
E-mail: info@little-archives.net
URL: www.little-archives.net
|