|
About this CD-ROM
Video materials are found in all
kinds of collections and come in many different formats. Video tapes
in general are regarded as vulnerable carriers, but some are more
so than others. Apart from the life expectancy of the tape itself,
the availability of well-functioning playback equipment is a key
factor to consider in developing plans for the management of video
collections.
This CD-ROM, produced by The Little Archives of the World Foundation,
provides a visual guide for identification of the more common video
tape formats as well as details on each type of tape. It also offers
general background knowledge on the principles of video recording
and equipment, common problems in playback and advice in dealing
with them, playback/recording errors, advice on handling and storage,
and links and literature to further reading.
The aim of the CD-ROM is to help collection managers set priorities
for preservation of their video holdings. It is intended both as
a reference tool for individual use and as information guide for
personnel of small audiovisual archives. It also makes the information
easily accessible for those without a technical background in video
recording and preservation.
Please note that the technical information presented here is not
meant to encourage those without any technical understanding to
undertake do-it-yourself repair and restoration. Before undertaking
any such actions yourself, you should consider the risks in handling
fragile tape and when in doubt, always consult a specialist in video
restoration.
This CD-ROM has been developed under the framework of TAPE (Training
for Audiovisual Preservation in Europe), a project co-ordinated
by the European Commission on Preservation and Access (ECPA) from
2004 to 2008.
TAPE focused on activities for minority collections of audiovisual
materials in all kinds of organisations, outside broadcasting archives
and major (national) audiovisual archives. The aim of TAPE was to
explore the requirements for continued access to audiovisual materials
as well as the application of new technologies for opening up audiovisual
collections which provide living documentation of the world of the
20th century.
See:
http://www.tape-online.net
http://www.little-archives.net/guide
|
 |
Philips EL3402 1 inch.
B/W Video Recorder 1968
|

|