Your location: links and literature

Links and Literature


Links

Information sites which are mentioned on this CD-ROM

Equipment information for cleaning and vitalisation of video tapes
http://rtico.com/vt3100.html

High-tech. restoring facilities in France
http://www.Sony-europe.com/restoration

Equipment information for transferring video signals
http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/sd/

Archangel restoration equipment
http://www.snellwilcox.com/products/conversion_restoration/

Preservation Guide
http://wiki.prestospace.org/

Independent Media Arts Preservation
http://www.imappreserve.org/

Online resources for video preservation and media arts web sites
http://www.bavc.org/preservation/dvd/resources/links.htm

The web site of Memoriav, the association for the preservation
of audiovisual heritage of Switzerland.
http://en.memoriav.ch/video/default.aspx (in French, German and Italian)

Video tape preservation fact Sheets
http://www.amianet.org/resources/guides/fact_sheets.pdf

Storage standards and guidelines for film and video
http://www.amianet.org/resources/guides/storage_standards.pdf

How to preserve multimedia in the most cost-effective fashion
http://www.cultivate-int.org/issue7/presto/


Take a look at these sites about magnetic tape with all kinds of
useful information for you as a video tape collection holder.
There are also sites with vintage video equipment


Old video hardware Q&A
http://www.bvws.org.uk/405alive/faq/video.html

All kinds of Q&A
http://www.videointerchange.com/faq.htm

Contains over 50 different formats in chronological order.
http://videopreservation.stanford.edu/vid_id/index.html

50 Video formats explained
http://videopreservation.stanford.edu/museum/index.html

Presents photographs of many types of videotape for visual identification, a description of their characteristics, and an explanation of longevity issues. Also includes clear and concise practical advice on assessment, handling, storage, conservation and a glossary. Recommended as a good introduction for the non-specialist.
http://www.arts.state.tx.us/video/pdf/video.pdf

Video recovery & restoration
http://www.videointerchange.com/video_recovery.htm#Tape%20Baking

Audiovisual glossary
http://www.bavc.org/preservation/dvd/resources/gloss.htm

Player reference guide
http://www.cedmagic.com/museum/ced-player-guide/ced-player-guide.html

User manuals
http://www.usersmanualguide.com

Notes on the troubleshooting and repair of video cassette recorders
http://www.repairfaq.org/sam/vcrfaq.htm#vcrpoltp

Video tape formats
http://www.tech-notes.tv/Standards-Practices/TVTapeformats.htm

Format paper by Kathleen Maguire
http://www.nyu.edu/tisch/preservation/program/student_work/2006fall/06f_2910_maguire_a1a.doc

Museum of Historic Video Equipment
http://videopreservation.stanford.edu/museum/index.html

All kind of VTRs (German)
http://www.useddlt.com/ampex-video.0.html

Technical information of all video formats
http://www.lionlamb.us/quad/format.html

TV Museum in Pictures (Dutch)
http://www.marcelstvmuseum.com/

The history of the video recorder
http://www.totalrewind.org/mainhall.htm


Literature


A selection of practical guidelines, reports, handbooks and websites.
More documents can be found on the TAPE website.

Adelstein, Peter Z., IPI media storage quick reference Rochester, NY, USA Image Permanence Institute, 2004. Contains a lot of very practical information on storage of photographic, magnetic and optical media.

AMIA, Videotape preservation Factsheets. 17 fact sheets about all aspects of video tape preservation: history and composition, formats, reformatting, cleaning, common problems, handling storage, disaster preparedness. With do's and don'ts and bibliography.

van Bogart, Dr. John W.C., Magnetic Tape Storage and Handling, A Guide for Libraries and Archives This report helps clarify long-term storage requirements for magnetic media and provides guidance on how to care for these media to maximize their life expectancies. It covers what can go wrong with magnetic media and how to prevent information loss and premature degradation of magnetic tape.

Brothers, Peter, Disaster Avoidance and Recovery of Magnetic Tapes Key Findings From a 20-Year Study. This paper provides an overview of findings on what has and has not proven successful in protecting and recovering magnetic tapes from floods, earthquakes and acts of terrorism.

BUFVC [British Universities Film & Video Council], The Researcher’s Guide: Film, Television, Radio and Related Documentation Collections in the UK, BUFVC, 2001.
Sixth expanded printed edition, listing 547 collections, describing 118 core radio collections, 319 core moving image collections and 110 core documentation collections. Each entry gives a comprehensive description of the collection and full contact details, access information, viewing facilities, copyright status of material held, catalogue systems, documentation, and other relevant details. The publication is enhanced by articles and appendices relevant to film and television research.

Edmondson, Ray., (ed), 2004 Audiovisual archiving: philosophy and principles Paris United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). First published in 1998 in English, Spanish, and French editions, the Philosophy has become a standard reference point for archives and training courses. The publication deals with the contextual and philosophical issues that digitization brings in dealing with the preservation and accessibility of audiovisual works. UNESCO guidelines define audiovisual preservation as the "sum total of the steps necessary to ensure the permanent accessibility – forever – of an audiovisual document with the maximum integrity" and define a document as comprising content plus carrier. A must-read for AV archivists and archive students alike. The new edition is available in printed form and as a PDF file.

Gilmore, Ian., and Dávila, Justin, Lossless Video Compression for Archives: Motion JPEG2000 and Other Options. A digital archival file format should have the requirement of being both lossless to preserve content and also compressed to conserve storage capacity. This article explains why JPEG 2000 is the best candidate as the standard archival file format.

Goldwasser, Samual, Notes on the Troubleshooting and Repair of Video Cassette Recorders, Version 3.18, 2006. Very extensive site on (VHS) video recorders and video tape, problems and, troubleshooting written in an accessible style and based on practical experience. Written for the average user with an interest in keeping machines running properly. Good on pragmatic and low-cost approaches.

Henriksson, Juha and Wallaszkovits, Nadi, Audio Tape Digitisation Workflow for Analoque Open Reel Tapes, TAPE publication 2007. Although the main focus is on audiotapes, many topics are also applicable to videotapes.

de Jong, Annemieke, Metadata in the Audiovisual Production Environment. An introduction, Nederlands Instituut voor Beeld en Geluid, 2003.

LabGuy's World, The History of Video Tape Recorders before Betamax and VHS, includes lots of pictures.

TV Manuals online, user manuals and other support documents including instruction manuals, user guides, operators manual, and how-to information.

Miller Hocking, Sherry and Mona Jimenez, Video Preservation - The Basics. An introduction to all of the issues from cleaning and storage to cataloguing and copyright. Also includes glossaries for video and preservation. Part of the Video History Project.

NISO, A Framework of Guidance for Building Good Digital Collections, 3rd edition December 2007. Overview of some of the major components and activities involved in creating 'good' digital collections.

Pavuza, Franz and Ahamer, Julia, Linear uncompressed video archiving on high performance computer tapes, paper presented at the 2004 Joint Technical Symposium. This article describes the structure of the newly established video archiving system of the Phonogrammarchiv. It outlines the philosophy behind the concept that rests on the mainly audio-related roots of the archive, and the necessary modifications for the video archiving procedures.

PrestoSpace, Instruction movies on one inch videotape, two inch videotape and U-matic with subtitles in several languages. Also available on DVD.

Schüller, Dietrich, Audio and video carriers, Recording principles, storage and handling, maintenance of equipment, format and equipment obsolescence
. This text is an advance abstract of a comprehensive document currently under preparation for IASA. It also includes a chapter on the maintenance of equipment and the obsolescence of formats. The overview is a full text version of presentations used in the TAPE workshops by Dietrich Schüller and Albrecht Haefner.

Wright, Richard, Audiovisual Preservation Guide, created for PrestoSpace and the BBC in May 2006. A systematic introduction to audiovisual preservation and digitisation, that leads you through the various steps involved in developing a preservation strategy. The approach is easy to follow for the nonspecialist and though full of up-to-date technical information. Pragmatic and written in nontechnical language. Full of links and useful advice from specialists with many year’s experience. Presented as a wiki and based on work done in the PrestoSpace project.

Digital Video
Library of Congress, Sustainability of Digital Formats. Site devoted to the analysis of the technical aspects of digital formats in order to ensure the long-term preservation of digital content.